Grand Prize:

$5,000 + trip to D.C. 

Nicholas Liu
Greenwich, CT
Teacher Aaron Hull awarded $1,000

Second Place:


Veronica Yu
Arcadia, Ca
Teacher Megan Leahy awarded $1,000

Third Place:


Elizabeth Mountz
Pittsburgh, Pa
Teacher Jennifer Klein awarded $1,000

Honorable Mentions: $500 per student

Layne Meyer
New York
Arianna Togelang
Stephen Iovino
New York

Teachers of Winners of Honorable Mentions – $250 each:

Kevin O’Hagan and Megan Leahy

Congratulations to the following teachers who encouraged the most students to enter this contest: $150 per teacher

Beth Burton – Pleasant Valley High School
Christopher Butler – La Plata High School
Aaron Hull – Greenwich High School
Megan Leahy – Arcadia High School
Richard Moore – Academy of Tucson High School
Vicky Oliver – Britton Deerfield High School
Kevin O’Hagan –  Garden City High School
Heather Valdespino – Ernest McBride High School

See Previous Winners

Click photo to view all winners and essays.

Enter your email here to be notified of future contests.